Schauenburg, Dossenheim

The ruin looking castle, a castle ruin standing under conservation of monuments and historic buildings from from the 13th to the 15th century, was in the course of her history often a match ball between the wittelsbachischen count palatine and the archbishopric Mainz. In 1460 count palatine Friedrich the victorious destroyed them finally.

After the destruction the rests of the looking castle of the Dossenheimer population still served for centuries (till 19. Cent.) as a spring for the purveyance of building material.

Their picturesque situation in the midst of a nature reserve in the north edge of the most northern Dossenheimer of stone quarry makes them a worthwhile destination.